Guest Blog+ | “The Craft” Work Habits of the Pros

As you know, I have quite a few interests, which boil down the two passions of mine: art & writing. Over the years, I’ve questioned what type of art I want to do…and what type of art can I actually create well. Then, I wondered if I wanted to write novels or short stories or simply stick to poetry.

This year has been great because I can see everything more clearly now. I even know what category my artwork fits into. πŸ™‚ As for writing, my poetry will continue to become books. I am not passionate about writing novels. Yet, I do like to write short stories or short scripts…possibly feature-length screenplays.

I just read an article on ScriptMag.com entitled, “The Craft: Work Habits of the Pros.” It features script writers and TV writers. My main take away was to write regularly and write extensive outlines before I begin my first drafts. Beat Sheets are also great for breaking down how a movie will play out from beginning to end.

Monday night, I went out to see the newly released “Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation.” I really liked it, but wondered could I ever write such a story for the big screen. Many have tried; many have failed. Still, I’ve seen so many movies with horrible writing the industry needs new people. I’ve nominated myself.

Quick example…I tried to watched the film “Dumb & Dumber To.” I generally like Jim Carrey & Jeff Daniels, but after 20 minutes of this film, I started to fade. The humor was so crude it got to the point where I couldn’t take it anymore. I don’t think I made it to the halfway point of the film before I took it back to Redbox. 😦 It was awful.

The studio lights for my potential photography sessions arrived yesterday. I made sure that all the equipment I ordered came with its own carrying case. They all fit into one case pretty nicely. Today, the real work begins. I have to test the lighting equipment in various setups to see what results I get. The next phase will be to look for models to test the lighting setups on. Then, I have to take some good studio portrait shots and submit them to publications for possible acceptance. Besides that, I have some purely artistic ideas to use the lights on. Still life objects, products for marketing, and the like.

On top of this, I’m ready to begin putting together my third book for my poetry collection without anymore distractions from other writing projects. I came up with the title of “Redemption” several months ago. That was the easy part. The tough part is my writing is kept all over the place (for some reason). I’m usually more organized with these sorts of things. But it is.

So, now I have to go through computer files, my hand-written journal, my blog, Twitter, and collect everything that didn’t make it in the first two books. It’s gonna take time, but I’m happy because I think the writing itself is the best I’ve written so far.

I cannot wait for my new business cards & postcards to be shipped. (Excited. Excited!) Last night, my career choice came up in two conversations and I had no business cards to give.

Plus, my side job is becoming…hectic. Monday, I…well, I’m sore. I lifted too many heavy boxes, so my lower back is not happy. Then, last night, um…we were working in a shop for motorcycle supplies and one of the metal stands almost fell on me. The client pulled it down, they put it back on the shelf and walked away. My back was turned, but I heard the screeching metal as the stand starting sliding off. I stepped forward as far as I could before it fell.

Tell you the truth…I’m not that upset that a heavy metal object would be put on a high shelf. I’m upset because once the client realized I wasn’t hurt, they didn’t even ask me if I was alright. My boss didn’t ask me either. So, then, I got upset. I see asking: “Are you okay?” as a common courtesy, even when I’m okay.

I must say, God was looking out for me again. Whether it’s me in the parking lot a couple days ago carrying groceries and a guy almost hits me with his car because he’s not paying enough attention to the road or…some heavy metal contraption falling from a shelf…I’m still alive.

Even more awesome than that…I was walking down the sidewalk early, early this morning complaining about how I wouldn’t get home ’til 3am and how not enough people seemed concerned about my near on-the-job accident when…a shooting star zipped across the night sky. It..was..so..cool! I love seeing shooting stars, but they’re hard to spot especially in a city with as many lights as Las Vegas. But I saw it…and everything was right with the world. Okay, I’m ready to go, again.

I do have a few photos of my lighting equipment on my phone, but I can’t seem to get them off my phone lol. Instead, if you’d like to see them, you can follow me on Instagram. My camera phone is…pretty awful, actually. But it does well enough until I can upgrade to a better smartphone.

I’m happy I have a smartphone now because last night I got lost. I pressed the little Google Maps App and it pin-points my exact location down to the block I’m standing on. …Wait. What?! Oh, no. Now, I’m being tracked by “The Man” like all you other smartphone users! They don’t even have to interrogate people anymore:

“Where were you on this date at this time?!”

Uhh…you know where I was, I had my phone on me LOL. Yes, it is 5am, well passed my bedtime. My best friend always picks at me…when I start joking and laughing at everything, he’ll be like…“You’re tired, aren’t you?” lol. “I think you need to go to sleep.”

Eric

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
